The National Cricket Carnival

South Australia vs Western Australia January 2014



South Australia & Western Australia with umpires John Synon, Simon Taufel, Margaret Robinson & Scorer Ian Wright

Bradman Oval at Bowral New South Wales in clear skies and bright sunshine was the place where South Australian captain Brett Fishpool, on winning the toss, decided to bat.

The start of the innings was a disaster 1 for 0. In the true tradition of South Australian determination, Brett Fishpool and Tim Broadbent put on a partnership of 77. Fishpool retiring with 51 not out and Broadbent scoring 69. Then a minor collapse until Jason Harvey with 51 and Alex Page with 53 restored the innings for their team to finish their 50 overs innings with 295.

For Western Australia Craig Pederick took the bowling

honours with 3 for 52. Brad Sparling although only taking one wicket was involved in achieving two run outs.

Western Austral had a poor start and were 3 for 22 in the 11th over. Tim Van Bronswijk with 26 and Nick Partridge 43 restored the innings and with Craig Pederick scoring 55, helped the team to finish with 184.

For South Australia Jono Gill, Jason Harvey & Alex Page each took two wickets.

With his 53 and two wickets Alex Page was awarded the 'Man of the Match'Trophy.



The Toss



John Synon SA, Simon Taufel ICC & Margaret Robinson QLD



The final score